Running - by cruise ship!

Hi, I am an ABTA travel agent who is now too decrepit for much sport but would like to put forward in idea I have been working on!

Embarking at one of the UK ports such as Southampton/Newcastle/Edinburgh/Greenock/Liverpool/Hull/Bristol/Harwich on one of the smaller cruise ships sailing and going to some countries with incredible running opportunities. I am picturing the crystal clean air of Scandanavia, the Norwegian Fjords,Iceland, Greenland & Lapland to name a few.

No flyng means you will be in better shape to start with!

Have a great days running and return to the luxury of your ship with great dining (from the healthy options menu of course!), work out in the fully equiped fitness centre/saunas & gymnasium.

Next day, do the same but in a different country - with no packing/unpacking of luggage and kit!

What I am after is any feedback from you with suggestions before I put the idea to the cruise companies and see what deals they can offer.

If a group gets together the cruise companies often offer perks such as free places, sole use of facilities & help with activities ashore.

Let me know your thoughts - a good idea - who is up for it?

We are not talking a fortune, an 8 day Fjords cruise for example is £449p/p when 2 share - less if there is 3 or 4 in the cabin!

Comments

• I like the idea  image

Almost like a swimtrek type of deal ...

•  

Fab!

Forgot about the refreshing dip in the pool at the end of the day!

• Thoughts :

What would make a runner want to take a cruise?  
    Short island hops as opposed long stretches at sea
    Empahasis on good food
    Facilities on board
    Scenery and Terrain
    Some kind of sponsor or sweetner perhaps
    Competitive price
    'Key' race at the end

What would make this different from a normal cruise round the Fjords or wherever where you could run at your own pace/time

• Good idea...    some facility to wash and dry the kit at the end of the day or overnight would be helpful...