Marathon Training

Good eveing

I have decided to plumb for the Chester marathon in October. Now that gives me just over 4 months training. I have done 3 HM's and my PB is 2hrs 30 sec. I haven't ran that distance for 10 months now, I am being crazy by thinking I could do the full distance. 

I have started running again about 3 months ago and doing 5k in 25.46 and 10K in 51.42 and also doing 400m sprints 5 times on Tuesday nights image

Can someone give me some guidance, I would love to do it in sub 4 hr.. 

Help image

Comments

• I'm also doing the Chester marathon in October. Been training for 6 months or so, done 1 half marathon in 2hrs 8 mins, just done a 10k in 52:50. Best 5k of 25mins. Your times suggest that you need to do endurance training because a 10k time like you have is well on course for a sub 2 hour HM and around 4hr marathon.
    However, I'm just a beginner on the journey training for a 1st marathon. 

• Also-ranAlso-ran ✭✭✭
    I'm sure with the right attitude and committment you can go the distance. I would take a look at the RW training plans which will show the committment you need in developing your long runs. Typically these are 16 week plans, or use Smartcoach

This is going to be over the summer so there will be the heat, disruptions with holiday etc to factor in.

I would start developing a decent base mileage per week over the next month (work on the slow steady miles) , and then start your 4 month plan in June
  • RatzerRatzer ✭✭✭

My advice, forget sub 4hr.  It's not that you can't do it, or won't do it (although it is very very unlikely), but that having that in mind will disrupt a very achievable goal of enjoying the completion of your first marathon.  (It is your first, right?)  Off your present HM PB I'd think you'd be looking at 4:30 for the Full, so that's the kind of figure you have to get into your head and spend time on your feet preparing for.