5k RUN

Hi Guys.

Im pretty new to running and absolutely loving it.

I run 5k on the treadmill 4 times a week in a time of just over 30 mins. I don't seem to be losing any weight which is a bit odd as my diet is very high protein and very low in carbs . I am 32 years of age 16 stone 9 in weight and desperately want to get fitter and slimmer. Every time i hit that treadmill i aim to run faster each time. Maybe it's time for a differenrt regime and diet change? any useful advice will be very welcome. Thanks. Josh.

Comments

• Ian MIan M ✭✭✭

Assuming that the treadmill is set to produce the same resistance as real running, then using this website http://www.runtheplanet.com/resources/tools/calculators/caloriecounter.asp  , that's 473 calories a run, so 1892 calories a week, which assuming that you haven't eaten anymore to compensate, e.g. energy drinks, recovery drinks, I can have a biscuit because i've exercised etc. then that calorie deficit is about 1/2 a pound a week (assuming that the rest of your diet isn't in calorie excess)
    Excercise per se isn't a great way of loosing weight unless you're doing hours and hours and hours and hours of it.

• Joshua, i had/have the same problem. unfortunatly running is not the key to weight loss, however your clothes fit you better image. I am on week 8 of a 10K training plan and have not lost any weight. I now realise that YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT . My diet has not really changed and this is the reason i have not lost weight. So if i keep up the running and cut out the Pizza, crisps, chocolate and beer then the weight will come off. I am 15 stone and would love to lose a stone or 2 , so i am really going to watch what i put in my mouth for a few months and see how i go.