Half marathon race day pace!

Hi all

Im totally new to running, in fact I used to hate it with a passion being a cyclist instead.  So I decide to do a half marathon to see what it was all about, well in 3 weeks I will be.  Ive been training for a few months and really enjoying it but need some advice.

Im looking to run it in under 2 hours but Ive no idea if I can acheive this and how to pace myself.  Currently Ive run 13.1 miles as part of my traning last week and did it in 2 hour 7 mins.  The first hour I ran at 6.7 mph but then the last hour my knees were really painful and my speed dropped.  I can run 45mins at 7mph.  Any advice/thought on if under 2 hours is achicveable on race day and how to go about doing it - both training wise in these last few weeks and how to pace myself race day eg. run fast 1st then slow or what?  Also should I buy a joggging watch?  At the mo I carry my cycling gps with me....

Lastly on race day itself how should I hydrate and energise myself....Should I carry a bottle or will drinks be provided and how much water/gels should I consume?

Sorry if these are standard boring begineers questions!  Any help appriacted.

Thanks
matt 

Comments

• It depends on how much training you've done on long runs. 6.7 mph is 9min/mile which is good. Race day adrenalin will make the first section easier for you but watch you don't go out too quickly.

Race day don't do anything different to what you've been doing in training.

Have you been following a plan?
  • thanks for reply.

ok glad 6.7 is good.  im just worried as after an hour my pace slows and the knee pain worries me.  the plan i followed is this http://www.runbristol.com/App_Files/Downloads/BEGINNERS_WEB_HALF%20MARATHON.pdf but live I say Ive done 13.1miles already and ive probably done more than the plan says generally.

so race day you dont think its best to blitx the 1st hour really fast given that in my second hour in training I slowed alot? or would that be counter productive.