Do I need to introduce more Speedwork?

Hi All, 

I have a half marathon in 4 weeks and then a 10K a few weeks after I have been following a more structured training plan for the last 8 weeks, before this I would run 4/5 times a week with a LSR of 10 miles. An example of a week on my plan is this:-

M:- Rest, Tues:- Easy Run 6 miles @8.20, Weds:- Easy Run 7 miles @8:20, Thurs:-Tempo Run 6 miles (5 @ 7:04) Fri:- Easy Run 6miles@8:10, Sat:- Rest, Sun:-LSR 12miles @8:10.

So far there has only been two session's over the 8 weeks of Speedwork Dist:-8 miles incl warm, 4x1600@6:25 w/800 jogs.( which I found shockingly hard by the way!!)

Should I be including more speed sessions? I know its probably a little late to ask now as the half is only 4 weeks away but I am really hoping to beat my Pb of 1:38 that I did in March this year, and my 10K PB that I got in May of 42:35. Any training  tips for the future would be great.

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

I'm no expert, but I don't think you'll see much benefit from adding speedwork this late in your preparation.  It takes two weeks for the effects of training to become apparent, and you should have a one to two week taper to be ready for the half marathon - so you can only really squeeze in one or two sessions before the HM.

After the races are out of the way, you could replace your tuesday easy run with some intervals.  I'm not surprised you found the 4x 1600 hard as thats quite a long interval.   I'm currently using the Garmin schedule from this site and it has a mix of 200m to 800m intervals (with more repetitions) and the 800m ones are hard!  So jumping up to 1600m reps from nothing is difficult to do.  So maybe have a look at other plans and you should find something like 12x 400m one week, 8x 800m the next, and only then 4x 1600m.