What do you wear in the rain?

Hi! I'm very very new to running, just starting out on C25K.

Since the British summer is being its usual self I keep getting very wet. I've been going out in a North Face cagoule but it's a bit bulky, since i live in Yorkshire I am sure I'll get lots of wear out of any wet weather gear so I am wondering what folk recommend for running in the rain? I'm not too bothered about my legs/feet as I am not out for long (30-40 mins), but it would be nice to come back without being soaked to my undies! TIA.

Comments

• I don't wear anything different from just my usual running kit unless it's wet AND cold, in which case I'll wear a thin rain jacket just to keep from getting too cold. I quite like running in the rain really, it's nicer than running in the boiling sun...

• Montane Minimus if it's really raining, particularly once it gets cooler (wet and warm is okay. Wet and cold is miserable.

• As little as poss. If its warm just shorts.
  • Tight tops work best for me if it's cold and wet.
  • MuttleyMuttley ✭✭✭

Lower half of body - shorts as usual. Upper half - gilet in all conditions other than really really foul and cold, in which case I have a waterproof jacket from Decathlon which is kind of okay but gets clammy inside. And hat. Must have a hat.

If it's worse than really really foul and cold I just stay indoors until it gets better.

I was out yesterday for a 10-miler along the Cornish coast in gale-force headwind and horizontal rain, and the gilet and a buff did me fine. Had it been winter I would have had the jacket and a fleecy hat.

As long as you're moving you should be warm enough but if you're up in the Yorkshire moors maybe consider a small backpack with a fleece inside in case you have to stop or get injured.

• Wet & warm - just shorts and vest
    Wet and cold - as above + Montane minimus
    Wet cold and windy - rethink timing or as above but merino underlayer in place of vest