Beginner HR Training Shock!

Hi all, I've been running for 3 years and am 39 years old.  My 10k race time is 39 mins.  In the last week I've tried some HR monitor training and I've had quite a shock when looking at the Garmin Connect charts.  The last 4 runs I've done wearing a HR monitor my HR has gone up to between 196 and 200 BPM in the first few minutes, then it has dropped to about 145, and then remained steady at about 150 - 155 for the rest of a harder run.

I'm really quite horrified that it has gone up so high!!  I guess I haven't been warming up enough and it's something I'll keep an eye on in future runs.  Otherwise, I felt perfectly fine.  My resting HR in the morning varies from about 39 to 43 from day to day so generally I don't have a high HR.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Comments

• Ian MIan M ✭✭✭

It's nothing to do with your fitness, it's just the HR monitor having a bad connection until you've sweated a bit and made a connection. 
    Try licking the HR contacts beforehand, but basically ignore the first few minutes as they'll be garbage.

• Agree. I sometimes get really high values in the first few minutes, but not if I remember to put some saliva on the contacts first. Or you can get a water-based gel designed for electrical contacts (for ECG machines) - but that's more expensive!

• Ian/Debra - thanks for that, I'll see what happens next time and I'll manually count my HR next time too image

• I have the opposite issue, the garmin HR reads fine for the first 45 min ish then as I sweat more it goes mental, spiking above 200 regularly even at easy pace, but settling as I dry it and reseat it. I've changed sensor, batteries and the strap (onto a modified, cut, polar strap now) but it only puts of the problem until a bit later into the run.

Cheap ECG gel off ebay did help it me more reliable in the short term, but in general I've not been impressed with garmin HR monitors.