Marathon madness!

I have just signed up to do my first marathon on 29th October, I am a complete beginner and would be grateful for any tips from the experts! I'm currently running 3 -4miles about three times a week. It's safe to say I think I've bitten off more than I can chew ????

Comments

• hi colleen..

you have about 3 months. Id say you want to do your last long run (approx 20 miles) by the start of October about 3 weeks before the race. You should increase your mileage on your long run really by no more than 10% per week. Im no expert and no elite (my PB is just short of 4 hrs) but I have done 3 marathons and each 1 has been faster than the last. I dont know what your ability is so its hard to say what you're capable of. You can always walk parts if you have to and dont have to aim for a time but you have to get your legs used to running for long periods. 3-4 runs a week is probably ok 1 being your long run with some shorter efforts in between but Id still up some of them to a bit longer, perhaps incorporate some speedwork, and some cross training will aid general fitness. If you had longer Id say (you might still have time for this) enter a couple of shorter races to build up your distance and race experience. Maybe a 10k and a half marathon.

Dont take my advice as gospel Im no expert but overall ensure you dont overdo things/get injured and just try to enjoy!!

• oh and make sure on long runs especially you dont get dehydrated and keep some jelly babies or similar on you to ensure your blood sugar doesnt plummet.