Beginner Half Marathon Training - 5 weeks to go!

I'm a TOTAL beginner! My friend persuaded me to sign up to a half marathon and now I am beginning to panic! It's in 5 weeks time....so far I have run 6miles in 1hr 15min....wel I say run, it's a walk/run affair. So I run 6mins and walk 1min and so on....

I'm planning on a long run this week of 7 miles....I run 3 or 4 times per week...do you think I'm on track to at least complete a half marathon? I'm struggling to run further than 6mins without walking for a while....how can I train to run longer? Or am I asking for miracles?! Many thanks guys! image

Comments

• How long does 7 miles take?

Try following the "get you round" plan attached

http://www.209events.com/file/256.pdf
  • Thanks! That training guide looks great for my level.  

I'm aiming for 7 miles tomorrow. Currently 6 miles takes me 1hr 10mins.

Do you think doing interval hill climbs helps raise fitness levels? image

• To give you an idea and I guess everybody is different. I have been running for 6 months now and started off doing 3km runs. Then went up to 5k a few weeks later followed by a 10k after about 3 months. I ran my first 10k in about an hour and now am down to about 50-52 mins. I did my first 10 mile run a few weeks ago in 1hr 43 mins and that seemed to go on for a long time with averaging 10.2 min miles.

I want to do a half marathon but feel its still to early for me.

I am thinking a half marathon in 5 weeks is way too quick and you don't want to injure yourself with the lack of enough training. Hats off to you though mate.

• Hill sessions help for sure but as you only have 5 weeks left and that would be only one session if your looking at the get you round plan I wouldn't bother.

Everyone is different. A lot of people on here are quite cautions in their advise as injury is a real danger, also most are strong and regular runners.