Heartrate

Hi all!I have been training now for over two months for a marathon and decided to invest in a heartrate monitor, which is really good. But i struggle to keep my heartrate lower than 151 on easy long runs and I have read that you should go slower! I can't I'm ar easy pace at about 161.. is this ok?

Comments

• It all depends on your maximum heart rate. You need to test this to find it out and work back your levels from there. 

Throw the monitor away and make sure you do most of your runs at a pace you can chat at. Thats easier. 

• As cougie says, the easy test is whether you are able to maintain a conversation at the pace you are running.

If you are new to training with a heart rate monitor, it is fairly common to find that the easy pace required to stay within the heart rate zone is incredibly slow at first.  However if you perservere you will find that you start to be able to run at a higher pace whilst keeping your heart rate at a low level.

Also, I suspect you have calculated your maximum heart rate based on the 220 minus your age formula?  This isn't very reliable as real max heart rates vary widely from this, so you probably won't get accurate zones based upon it.  There are a few books available that can help you get the most out of heart rate training, so it may be worth investing in one.  

• To calculate your maximum heart rate (MHR): warm up (including a couple of accelerations to sprint speed), then run very very hard for two minutes. You should get to within a beat or two of your MHR. To improve your endurance, run at 75-85% of this figure.

Even this isn't the most accurate method though; for that you need your heart rate reserve (HRR) which is your MHR minus resting heart rate (RHR). Multiply (say) 80% by HRR then add RHR to get your target heart rate for endurance. For example if your MHR is 200 and your RHR is 50, your target heart rate for endurance is (0.8 x 150) + 50. Which is 170.