I get so hot!!

Ive been running for a few months now. I was the original couch potato -hated exercise and was overweight -ate too much and use all the excuses going.

Im 42 btw.

Ive since lost 3 stone and enjoy the gym -also have a treadmill in the house. I love going for my runs (nothing far -10K is my best so far but I tend to do several 5ks during the week and a 10k at weekend).

Im booked to do my 1st race -the Gteat North 5K in 2 weeks. Not bothered really about time -just want to finish without looking like a bright red mess! Hence this thread!  My issue is -I get so hot! I wear light clothes -shorts and vest -I drink plenty water before i go out and afterwards (not during). Im a really early riser and i go for runs at 6am. Im not looking forward to the race as it will be 10am -hotter than my usual 6am! After my run -I am boiling -I feel i can go on as I am not tired or out of breath -but I get so bloody hot! Kids joke i look like a ribena berry!

Any advice?!!

Comments

• Don't worry at the race you will see plenty of people with bright red faces. It is quite a normal reaction to get hot, the exercise of running generates body heat from the inside and sends to the outside for the skin to cool you down, one of the reasons why the body sweats is to cool the body.

I can have a red face for up to 2 hours after a hard run when the weather is warm. 

• I'm the opposite i go milky pale, wife says i look like death warmed up after a long run. Shoud i be worried?

• well my long runs are currently 6 mile

• hmm not really long enough to be bought on by running in my humble opinion, how do you feel?

• mandy - I would suggest that after you have finished your run try taking your shoes and socks off for a little while to help bring your temperature down image

You will find it easier as your fittness level increases image