First London Marathon!!!!!

Hi - just found out I have a place in the London Marathon next year and need all the help & advice I can get!!!!!! Any tips out there for a novice like me?!!

Comments

• What is your fitness level at the moment Hilly and how many miles can/are you running?
  • How did you find out so early ? thought it wasnt until October ?

• E mmyE mmy ✭✭✭

Charity?

3.30 or bust - you're right that it's not until October that we hear the results.

• GFA Entries are confirmed already too.

I'm in and it'll be my first London. The best possible advice is to spend the next few months, up to the 16th December getting used to running lots of miles.

When you start an 18 week plan you need to find the training levels comfortable already, which means having done long runs of up to 16 miles and weekly volumes of 50 plus wherever possible.

• CindersCinders ✭✭✭

Not knowing what your current level is I'd say start now if you are a complete novice, don't leave it till December when most plans start.

• If you are a novice I wouldn't try running 50 miles a week!

build up gradually from whatever level you are at now. Have you done any running at all?

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭
    For my first marathon (Paris 2009) I started building up my base training in October. Making sure that by the end of the year I could comfortably run 8 miles at a steady pace without walking. I was also running 3 / 4 times per week. This made the transition into a proper training programme a lot easier in January.
  • Get yourself to HM fitness by Christmas and then find a 16 week marathon plan that fits your targets for the big day.  But all of the above will depend where you are at now