from half to full marathon

Hi folks

I wonder if you could help me with a dilemma I have please. Ive been running for about 20 years and recently completed the Wolverhampton half marathon last week. I was suprised at how easy I found this (although I did stroll in at 2 hours!!) for saying the farthest distance I had run before this was 10 miles.

My question is, do you think it is feasable for me to enter a marathon in a months time (Leicester) without enough time to follow a set training plan, or should I get more half experience and take my time. I currently run between 4-5 times per week covering about 25 miles???

Thanks

Comments

• It is pushing it.  But that's about the distance I run.  I've been running 4 months from scratch and am doing the leicester marathon.

With my training plan I have done 1 x 15 miler, doing an 18 miler this sunday, less next Sunday then a 20 miler the sunday after....

Then tapering off.  So apart from your long run being 2 miles less than mine it's about the same, if you can put in maybe a 15 mile long run this weekend 16.5 or 17 next weekend and a 19 the week after, then you'll have had 3 ok runs in.

It's going to be tight but if your only objective is to enjoy yourself and get around it's just about doable I think?

But, as you can see i've only been running 4 months, so i'm no expert and there are experts around here who know a whole lot more than me image

• In a word, no.

Training for a half is no preperation to run a full marathon that is only a month away. Worst case senario you'll get injured. Best case senario you'll complete it, but in the second half of the race you'll enter a new world of pain and suffering and it'll kill any enthusiasm you have to run that sort of distance again.

If you want to do a marathon aim for one of the many spring marathons and build up your mileage with a decent training plan.

• So youve been running for 20 years - thats good - an excellent base.