I had a bad run today!

Hi all,

I started training in March for the Bristol Half Maarthon which is 3 weeks away now. The last 2 out of 3 runs have been a real effort. On Friday I went out for a 10 mile run which was ok but I attempted another 10 miler today & had to turn around as I had no endurance or stamina at all & felt really hot! Another run last week was also a real effort & my legs felt really heavy & I was slow & sluggish. Do you have ANY advice or ideas as to why this may be? I have been trying to stay hydrated etc. I cant get my speed up at all - not even for a fartlek/interval. 

Comments

• What is your usual training week ... including mileage and pace?

• Why two long runs so close together?  What's on your training programme for this week?

• Usually I do a long run on monday - have been building it up over the months but only done 10 miles twice. 

tues - rest

weds- tempo 4-6 miles

thurs - rest

Fri - Fartlek 4 miles

I guess in the last month I have been 20 miles or a bit less a week on average.

The reason I attempted 2 long runs close together is beacause I had a free day today and thought I would seize the opportunity as I have quite a hectic schedule - probably a bad move?

• PS  last week my tempo run was 8.44mins a mile and I kept this up for 6 miles

• 20 miles per week is not much for HM training ... and not enough to support a 10 mile long run. This is why it run took so much out of you and left you fatigued for the next run.

Take a look at the first 3 posts in this thread  for some sensible advice about how to construct a training week based upon the race distance you're aiming for.

• Shoot, do you think with only 3 weeks to go I am totally stuffed then? I was advised to only run 3 times a week by an experienced runner who said mixing up different running types would pay off & be ok for a HM.