Self Conscious Newbie

Hi! 

I am just starting out hoping to follow the couch 2 5k plan. I am overweight (nay, technically obese image ) with a BMI of 32 and have lost 1stone 8lbs in the last 8 weeks following Slimming World. Determined to keep losing and get fit which is why I'm trying to learn to run. 

My problem is this - I'm big and I know it, I feel horrifically self conscious and when I do go out in public trying to run I feel like people are staring at me or that every person I pass is sniggering/dying to burst out laughing at the sight of me and my big red chops wheezing along. I've had lorry drivers honk their horns at me as they pass before which has made me feel worse. 

I've tried to get up really early to run so that not as many people would see me, but I'm not a morning person at all and keep sleeping in! 

I'm probably being paranoid I know, but does anyone have any advice on how I can get over this and get out there without giving a hoot who sees me ? 

Comments

• There is no easy way if you are self conscious but if it is any consolation the lorry drivers and other road users  beep and holler at all runners nothing to do with size so it's not personal.

As your running keep telling yourself that every mile is helping you to lose weight and you are probably fitter than most of the idiots beeping.

Well done on your weight loss and don't let them get you down. Most people who look are probably admiring you for your effort. I know that's what I think when I see peeps out running...

• Congrats on your weight loss to date! Can't really help other than to agree with Flo and try and turn it round so your thnking they are actually encouraging you. Think of how you will feel (and look) a year from now, and that all this hard work will pay off in time image

• Just remind yourself that every runner was a beginner once - and I've certainly never forgotten how it felt to be a beginner!