What is my wear pattern telling me vs when I was running less?

Hi all,

I'm new to posting here, although a lurker for a while. Just thought i'd see if anyone had any tips on reading my wear pattern. If I'm in the wrong forum please let me know!

I have been running for 5 or 6 years occasionally for general fitness, but only this summer started to get more serious and do a half marathon (in three weeks). Training is fine for distance and I'm trying now to add a little speed, but in the process of more intensive running I've started feeling a few aches that make me wonder about my technique and shoes.

When I started out, I went to a running shop, tried a few pairs of shoes and came away with Asics-2110. Felt great, needed no breaking in, etc. I've replaced them with the next year's model most years.

In the intervening period, I had a mid-sole foot injury on my right foot from an assault, which I think slightly changed the way I run. My normal technique made that injury ache somewhat (we are now four years after the event) so I think I naturally came to run defensively to compensate for it.

I mention that because I now have problems with the left foot. Nothing major, just aching around the heel/achilles area a bit. But when I look at the wear pattern on my current running shoes I notice that my left foot now has marked wear on the outside of the forefoot. Nothing on the other sole like that.

So what I'm asking is - do you think this is telling me that I'm in the wrong shoe. (Or perhaps that I'm in the wrong left shoe and my right shoe is fine image ?)

Any thoughts would be much appreciated!

Comments

• Could be, or does where you run have a camber that means you are just rubbing it more there and also feeling the extra work caused by that?

• Hi, good question on the camber, but my run is always an out-and-back so the wear should end up symmetrical!