late starter

Hi

As a complete beginner at the age of 72 I wanted to try a 5 k Parkrun.My local venue puts results on line ......the slowest times were in the 39 minutes and  these were Female runners.I timed myself on the course but could only manage 44 mins, What should I aim for as a 5k time before I dare to do the real thing  

Comments

• Tony

First can I say well done to you

Dont worry about your time before doing the "real thing" Theres no rules that you have to be fast, just go out have fun and the only one your doing it for is you. If you want to do it do it mate !! Good luck !!

• Tony, firstly congratulations on wanting to try the parkrun! Secondly, as 3:30 don't worry about times and if you plan on doing it more than a few times as your fitness grows your times will come down - don't worry about other peoples times.

I'm a newbie to this running lark too but a youngster at just 53image Have you been to the doc just in case? we 'veterans' need to look after ourselves more than the 'younger' runners. Do you plan on training in the week for your parkruns?

• wow! well done! i started last year (30) and have done some 10k marathons and a 5k as well. have on in Turin, Italy (10km) next Monday. My goal is to be basically get good times so i understand why you're asking re: times, but seriously, enjoy it! i find it so relaxing and so much better to cope with stress, being a mum of three, working full time, and always being in such a hurry to go everywhere. plus it motivated me to quit smoking. good luck with your run and all the best!

• Hi Tony, the above is all sound advice. All i may be able to add is. That the regulars may like to help you with advice about training. But I understand, I have just entered the Manchester MoRun, I hope to get lost in the crowd ow er.

Keep us informed in how your doing. As far as I'm concerned I'm impressed. You may be showing some youngsters soon on how it should be done, training wise. Who knows.