Is running a spiritual experience for some?

When I run I find my mind is clear. I get a sence of freedom and liberation while viewing the surroundings out in the country.

I also find if I don't focus on my running or breath I can run easier and longer.

Who else in here has similar experiences? I've been running since March of this year and used to hate it. But after a while I look forward to it and enjoy it.

Comments

• Running has always been something pure for me, something beyond just putting one foot in front of the other. I am not sure how much i see of the world around me when i run, except when i get up early and like to feel the world, before it wakes up.

I try not to focus on my running or breathing, rather let my body tell me what it wants to do.

I have been running now for two years, and for me, it is just a feeling of release, and focus.

• Totally agree. Running for me is about how it makes me feel. I always feel its almost meditation on the move due to the calm relaxed frame of mind it puts me in.
  • I'm curious - are those feelings compatible with following any sort of training programme? Or do they evaporate as soon as you have to start thinking about speeds and times and distances and so on? 

• CambridgeMinor wrote (see)

I'm curious - are those feelings compatible with following any sort of training programme? Or do they evaporate as soon as you have to start thinking about speeds and times and distances and so on? 

Any "structured" training programme worth its salt will have room for plenty of easy paced running where it's best not to be too prescriptive about pace.  So yes, those feelings are entirely compatible as far as I'm concerned.