Meal suggestions before a run to avoid being sick

Hi

Please can anyone suggest some meals that I can eat before a run whilst I'm just getting started...again?

Last night I went for my second run which is 2.5 miles and takes 20 minutes and avoided the silly beginners pace of running too fast. I researched how long I should wait till after a meal before I go for a run, which was to wait 2 hours. So I waited 2 hours and 30 minutes after eating two egg and bacon sandwiches. When I finished my run I went straight to the sink to puke up.

I'm not bothered one bit about the puking, I know that will go once I build up stamina, etc. Plus as soon as I puked up I was fine a minute later. What bothers me is that twice I had to stop and walk for a minute because I felt like I was going to puke. I don't want my runs to be affected (put me off) because of eating the wrong food. So in hindsight bacon and egg sandwiches are probably too rich for my stomach before a run. Which is why I was wondering if you guys have any suggestions?

I'm not a natural runner. I'd rather continue doing intense sessions on my exercise bike than go for a run. But I feel running is far superior to an exercise bike, so I really want to stick with running this time and not wimp out like I have in the past.

Many thanks in advance. Sorry if this question gets asked often. I did do a search but I couldn't find anything related.

Comments

• I think it's a matter of trial and error, as it's different for everyone.

I never managed to find something that doesn't make me feel ill, so I get around it by running before breakfast.

I have heard people recommending smoothies as a light, easily digested "meal," but you would probably have to top up straight after running  too if you were to try that.

• Can you go for a run before tea ? You don't need the meal as fuel - your body has plenty of stores.
  • Perhaps you are running far too quick?  try to slow the pace and see if that makes any difference