Please help! I've been running for two months, now up to 10k....

Please help me get under 60mins for 10k! I've been running for two mths and averaging 63mins for 10k and I'm getting so frustrated!!!! Pls help?

Comments

• How many runs a week are you doing?

What distance are you running each run?

How long is each run taking?

The common beginners mistake is to run every run as fast as possible believing that this will make you faster. All it does is make you more tired.

Run slowly at conversational pace for about 12k. Do 3 runs a week for about a month at this speed. Then have another go at your 10k route.
  • http://www.209events.com/file/250.pdf

Follow the sub 60 or plan attached. Don't miss sessions.

Try again in 2 more months.
  • @ Tim, thanks this sounds like good advise. I shall try 12k method. Thank you for taken the time to respond. (I think I'm setting out too quick then fading in the last 3k)

@J1M thank you also for taking the time to respond! I'll a look at the link and come back to you. Thanks again.

• I had this problem for ages and also became frustrated. I spoke to my brother who knows more than I do! He suggested doing Fartleks and it worked for me. My PB in a race is now 54mins 50secs. 

I must point out that I hate doing them and I did a 6K session of them yesterday and disliked every minute! My brother also told me only to do a session of them once a week. 

I'm no expert but can only tell you what I do...

I decide a distance and then run at normal pace until I feel warmed up and then I pick out a spot in the distance (like a tree or a post) and I run as fast I can to it then I slow back my normal pace until I feel recovered and repeat over and over unitl I have covered the distance. 

Hopefully it will work for you! Good luck I know how you are feeling! 

• Jonny, you haven't said what mirage you're currently doing. Build up slowly by adding a mile a week to each run if you're not already running 3x10k.