Smartphone Vs GPS watch?

Hi all, I am new here and relatively new to running.

I'm training for a half marathon and have also signed up for a marathon next year. I'm finding it terribly hard and sometimes downright demoralising not knowing exactly how far/fast I'm running.

My current phone doesn't have GPS on it but I'm due an upgrade in November. I was wondering if the GPS apps on newer phones will do for tracking how far and fast I'm going or whether a GPS watch would be better?

Ideally I'd like it to shout at me when I've done X miles, or every X minutes just for a bit of a morale boost. The heart rate aspect would be more out of interest than anything as I've not gone that much into detail with my training.

What do you all recommend?

Comments

• well.. I have signed up for my first marathon next year aswell as currently training for a half next month. Whilst I have run before I am relatively new to longer runs!!

I have a smartphone with GPS and whilst it proved useful its quite big and I didnt really get on with it whilst running. I went for the basic garmin (110) and I love it - It wont alert you when you have done x miles etc but it tells you time distance and pace. I got it with a HRM and I have to say I actually like it - On the downside whilst knowing all these stats are great and can motivate you - sometimes it can mess with your head - many a run I have to order myself not to look at my watch every 3 minutes!!!!

So in answer - there will definately be an app for what you require which with headphones can literally talk you round but I personally preferred the simplicity of a watch....and sometimes dare I say it I run completely gadgetless!!!!

• ClagClag ✭✭✭
    Personally, I've not used my I-phone for this and don't take it running as its really quite heavy.

I recently got a new GPS watch (Garmin 405 with heart rate monitor for ??119-99) from this website. Was well chuffed!

http://www.burrowsgps.co.uk/s.do?itemType=3&name=405&x=140&y=13