1st half marathon- last couple of weeks

I'm running my first half marathon in just over two weeks. I've been training for the last three months but have been quite lax on increasing mileage. Basically I'm now up to 11miles but am incredibly tired. Any advice for the next two weeks? And most importantly what should I do in the days leading up to it?

Comments

• When did you run 11 miles? How long ago? What is a typical weeks training for you?
  • Hi jess, I guess it depends what your goals are.... Firstly if completion is your main aim then you're pretty much there if you've done 11 miles, so well done on getting up to that mileage. Most novice training plans don't have a long run much further than that. Pushing yourself for a final 11-12m this weekend is probably what the average schedule would say, and doing a long run is always the key run of the week so stick to that routine. However I guess the exact length of the run should depend on exactly how sore and tired you are - you have to listen to your body.

Most HM schedules i've seen have a slightly reduced long run the weekend before. In the days leading up to it then do..... very little. Except for eat sensible, well balanced food, but don't do too much differently, keep hydrated, avoid alcohol etc etc..... Do a 2-3 mile run 2 days before the HM and generally rest and avoid doing obviously daft things like playing 5 aside football on the Friday night, like I did before one HM.

Other opinions I'm sure are available....!
  • As Andy said,  11 miles in training is the longest run that most plans would suggest.  For my first half marathon I didn't go over 11 miles in training, as it added to the "special" nature of my first HM event that it was the first time I'd achived that distance.