Aching in the arches of my feet ?

Hey guys, last Saturday I completedd my first ParkRun after 5 weeks building up to it, so yes I am a newbie image

During about the 3rd or 4th km the arches of my feet began aching, until it got to the point where I had to stop and let them calm down.. I went to a running shop and was advised on getting some insoles because I have been told I have high arches. I put them in and today was my first run with them. 

After about 3k they began aching again!, it also seems that when the arches begin to ache my body compensates by running off them slightly, which makes the other side of my foot hurt too.. sort of like a high pressure feeling.

So my question is, what do I do? Maybe I have a bad style? Should I try barefoot running on some grass a couple of times a week? I heard that sometimes fixes running inneficiences. 

Thanks for your help in advance guys and girls image

Comments

• I would say that you would be better off using massage and gentle stretching on your arches, as if they are high i am assuming that the foot muscles are naturally quite tight.
    Also sometimes if you have tight calf muscles this can cause referred pain in the arches of the foot, so try stretching and massage of the calf muscles too.
    (make sure all stretching is done on warm NOT cold muscles though!).

Barefoot running can be good for you, and can strengthen your foot muscles, but should not be seen as a 'fix-all' for running inefficiencies image

• well done on the parkrun by the way, keep it up!image

• Thanks for the speedy reply!

Hopefully you are right, sorry to bother you again but how often should I be doing the stretching/ massage? Im also not 100% sure on techniques etc. so I wold be extremely gratefull if you could expand on that.

Thanks for the kind words ! image