'Mature' runners.

Comments

• The knee appears to be okay however my left ankle is now complaining and i'm just beginning to think it could be arthiritis, for the record i did'nt play footie, i have a 10k race at the weekend and i'm hoping i can still make it  image

Redhead, i don't do sensible either !

• Seems to me you both do sensible. You just don't like doing sensible.

• I think Columba has got the measure of both of us, OT!

Morning all,

It's a glorious autumnal day here with mists and mellow fruitfulness (thanks Mr Keats, that sums it up nicely!).  I really can't bear to stay indoors on such a lovely day so I'll get my paperwork chores out of the way this morning and then just potter outside this afternoon.

OT, you were very sensible in missing football and I'm very impressed!  Now, with regard to your ankle/knee.  Get yourself off to the quack and get it x-rayed then you can see if there's any deterioration.  If there is, then you can work on strengthening the muscles supporting the ankle/knee.  I say that because for many years I had a gammy left knee from an old riding accident and it caused me to limp when the weather was wet.  When I first started running it caused me problems so I trotted off to the quack who told me I'd have to stop running.  I had it x-rayed and saw the very slight deterioration and spoke to my Physio about it.  She gave me loads of exercises to strengthen the muscles supporting the knee and I haven't had any problems since (touch wood) - and that was nearly 10 years ago!  Undoubtedly it will catch up with me eventually but I believe you can ward off these things for a while at least. 

I have a 10k this weekend too but I think I'm going to give it a miss as it's a classified as 'hilly' (it had to be reclassified as such even though we locals consider it to be just undulating!).  It will be  a case of how I'm feeling on the morning as I don't see any point in doing it if I'm not going to do it well.