How do you cope without support from your partner ?

Hi

I was wondering how people out there coped if they didnt receive any support from their partners. 

A bit of background first. I am male, 45, 5ft 7, 13t 10lbs. I have been running on and off for about 3 years.I am obviously overweight and would like to lose a couple of stones. For as long as I care to remember I have always thought my weight was an issue to me and I have made many, unsuccessful attempts to lose it and keep it off.

Over the last few months I have come to really enjoy running. I now live on the edge of the Peak District and there are some brilliant runs. The problem I am having is getting the buy in from my partner. She doesnt really give me support for what I'm trying to do and, even though she says she doesnt mind me running, I can tell that she is not happy with it. I must only spend 5/6 hours a week running so I dont see what the problem is, as of course we need to have our own time.

I am wondering how other people deal with this situation ? Any advice would be appreciated

Comments

• What does she say or do that makes you think she's not happy with it?

• @Tom77 - read this.  Read it now, before it's too late for you.

• I can offer little constructive help but I do applaud your taste of music as per your user name!

• BookyBooky ✭✭✭

In what way isn't she happy with you running? That sort of detail is kind of crucial to working out if there's a problem or not! What sort of support are you expecting that you aren't getting?

Without knowing any specifics - what did you do in those 5-6 hours before you started running? If you used to spend that time lavishing attention on her then that might be the issueimage