New runner here

Hi every one. Been searching and thought I'd ask on here rather than read other threads as we are all different , Ok in 34 and have reached a point in my life where I want to make my family proud and join the TA , I have 5 weeks to do my 1.5 mile run and my time is not budging. Am I expecting to fast results ? About me :::: I'm 34 and I'm 15.1 stone and 6ft . I'm a HIV driver and I'm always jumping and running around in the day with work. Out side work I walk a lot and don't work out. Being as honest so I can get honest feed back !!! I started 5 days ago by running along the Thames in London at a time of 15.20 and have got down to 15.02 but getting that minute shaved of is seeming hard. I'm very determine to do this and have only just got home from getting my first pair of running shoes. I normally do .7 of a mile then out of breath and walk fast then run again. Is there any tips as for when to eat , other trainning apart from running to help this ? Many thanks image

Comments

• Predictive texts was ment to say hgv driver not HIV !!! Sorry
  • Try running further than the distance you are aiming for. If you can build up to running comfortably for an hour then the speed will come naturally on the shorter runs.

It is very difficult at the beginning to try to take a whole minute off your time simply by running the 1.5 miles over and over. You will also get very frustrated and possibly bored with it.

If you are training 3 times a week, make one run a long one, one a hill session perhaps, and one your 1.5 miler. There are some great training plans on this site so you should be able to find one you can follow or amend slightly to suit.

Be very wary of trying to do too much too soon, which is very easily done, and will lead to injury. Take it nice and easy and the speed will come when you have your fitness up to a good level.

Hope this is of some help, keep it up and you will get there!