Development

Hi great to see so much support on here so thought id start my own thread to see if some of you regulars can help me to develop my running.

I've been running for a couple of months now and recentley completed a 10k race in a time of 57:23 which i was very please with. I am currently very overweight so want to keep the running going as im starting to see the benefits and to be honest im really loving it. My problem is that now ive done a race (which helped me to keep focused) im now at a loss as to how to keep motivated and focused and move on especially with winter coming up. 

Due to family and work committments i can only commit to running 3/4 times a week. Has anyone got any tips on how i can keep myself motivated and develop my running further i.e what training i should be doing to get faster and go further? 

Any tips greatfully appreciated as I dont want to loose motivation and go back to being a lasy slob on the couch

Comments

• Well, one simple solution - enter another race? Seriously, find one about 4 to 6 weeks away, so you know you have to train for it, and can't just sit back down - and go for it. You have a target now, and believe me, the second race is a LOT easier than the first! You know what it feels like to be in a group, to race that far etc etc.... as long as you don't pick something much much harder you should hit a PB next time...and then the motivation continues further...