How do I train for a 90 min half?

Hi, I have been running for a few years now without doing anything too special training wise & my pb for a half is currently 1:35. I would love to break the 1:30 barrier but as a 38 year old female how do I get faster sooner rather than later?! The other area that requires attention is my diet, whilst I know what is healthy & what isn't , I am slightly ( ok very!) guilty of believing that running gives me a free rein to eat anything I fancy, mainly chocolate,chips, wine etc! My weight is fine & I have a bmi of roughly 20, so that is fine but if I want to get faster I think I need to change my diet also. My training week looks roughly like 1 long steady run of between 10 -14 miles 1 speed session 1 run of about 8 miles - varying 1 week might be hills, next week tempo 1 or 2 runs of about 5 miles steady pace, 2 body pump classes & occasional high impact aerobics ( I love these as it's a bit of a change from pounding pavements) This would be an ideal weeks training - life, kids etc often change this! I have only recently upped my mileage from about 22 miles a week to about 30 -35 so hopefully I will notice the benefits of that. Please can anyone give me some tips on training, diet etc & whether you think it is possible for me to achieve a 90 min half marathon . Many thanks image

Comments

• Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

if your pb from 22 miles was 1:35, a few consistent months of 30-35 should comfortably reduce that.

Probably worth using McMillan's race calculator (google it), which will give you some rough pace zones from your most recent flat road race time.

Make sure you're not training too fast

• Thanks Stevie, I will take a look. I am trying to make sure I don't train too fast, it has been a bad habit in the past.
  • Sounds like you've got a good mix going on there, and I agree with SG, a few weeks of consistent higher volume training may be enough to knock a fair few minutes off.