10k and half marathon - can I be ready after injury?

I've been running for about a year, 3-4 times a week since Feb this year.

I have signed up for a 10k in 2 weeks and a half marathon in 6. I started training in early June and over the next 8 weeks built to 30km per week with a 15km long run.

After that I was away with work for 3 weeks and couldn't run, although I did conditioning and stretching. I managed a few runs on my return, building back up to a 15km long run, and then I strained my calves. I had been trying to move to a midfoot strike style, and must have done it too quickly.

I've been stretching, getting massage/physio and foam rolling. I tried cycling, but ended up hurting my previously good calf. So I've now been out for another 3 weeks.

I'm fairly happy I could run the 10k if my calves heal, although they still ache at times. I wonder if I should go for a short jog and see, or wait until there is no pain?

My main worry is the half marathon. Do you think there is time enough left to build up to the distance? I'm guessing I'll have to drop back down to about 10k when I do manage my next run.

thanks for the advice

Comments

• I'd still welcome advice.

I managed 30 mins on the cross trainer yesterday, thinking of building up to 2 hours over the next couple of weeks to simulate a LSR even if my runs need to be short when I start again.

• Sounds like you've got a reasonable base so you shouldn't have too much trouble getting round, as long as your calves behave. You've previously done 15k's without too much trouble so another 6k on top of that wouldn't be too much of an issue I wouldn't  have thought.

Best thing would be to do the 10k and see how you feel after that. As long as the calves feel alright, I'd go for it.

• Thanks, that sounds very positive. I'm hoping to get a short run in later this week, so fingers crossed they behave.