Need to get faster

Hi ive been running on and off for 4 years now, due to injuries and having a baby ive had to have time off . Ive also completed 3 half marathons but only 1 of those was a okish finishing time . My speed has always been a bit slow and ive got a bit slower in the last year not sure why. but i would really like some advice on how to get faster i know i should do fartleks to help but im never very good at jugding how long im meant to do them for. I also run with a club and feel like im always at the back and would like to be able to keep up . their normal pace for most of them is about 9half min miles mine is about 11 and a half .Im also doing my first marathon next year and i know speed work is important for that ..Any help would be great  thanks xx

Comments

• Which marathon are you doing? ie when is it next year.

Endurance is more important than pace on a marathon. You need to be able to make the distance before worrying about how long it's going to take.

The best advice I can give is for you to take time to work out where you are at now and where you want to be when you need to start your marathon training.
    How far are your long runs, time and distance. How much running do you do each week. Time and distance again. What other exercise do you take. How long have you between now and when you need to start training for your marathon.

You can work on either time or distance but don't try to complicate things by working on both. Whatever you decide you need to build up your endurance slowly. How many days a week are you running? How many days a week can you commit to your running.

You will need to run at least 3 days a week and do at least one days xtraining. If this may work for you have a look at Shades Marathon training thread.

If you want to and can run more then maybe have a look at the HADD training thread.