Sciatica?

Hi

Hi

I have been running since April 2012 and go about 3 times a week, I run between 3 and 6 miles each time, I have recently found I am getting what I assume is sciatica when I finish my runs or the next day (never during a run) I found a few links here but most of them describe back issues where as mine is in the top of my right buttock and into my calf, I don't really want to bother my GP so was looking for some advice?

any replies greatly received

Lucy

Comments

• Hi Lucy I had something similar a while back. Only thing that sorted it was physio I am afraid. He gave me 3 exercises to do and I done them for a month and I was back running. Might be the same thing might not but thats what I had to do and it was because of sciatic nerve in me bum image

• Thanks for the quick reply, I did wonder if I would need some advice from a physio image  I'm not great at stretching before I run so will try doing a few more general stretches and if It still happens i'll have to get my self booked in image

• Also look at pirifomis stretches which help to ease pressure on the sciatic nerve where it goes through the hips.  Working on your core strength and good hamstring stretches will also help.

• Have you been to a decent running shop and had your running gait checked? The best bits of advice I have ever received about running was to get this done and get decent trainers.

• JF50 I think thats essentially what the Physio gave me to do and yes you can find them on youtube etc image