My first ever mile!

Hi I'm new to this site and it is great - there's so many good tips here!

Anyway I've been running for the first time ever (not including school and football), and I'm proud of my running time: 3 miles in 30 minutes. So that's 6 mph/1 mile every 10 minutes, I was running and when I got tired I started to walk, but I've never felt better - it was great.

Is this OK if I walk when I get out of breath, even though I'm a beginner to this?

My goal is to join the Parachute Regiment in the British Army, I'm 15 (one month left till I'm 16) so I have 2 years left to join as an officer. I want my 1.5 mile time to be sub 9 minutes. Is this possible, to get from a 1.5 mle time of 15 minutes to a 1.5 mile time of sub 9 minutes in 2 years?

I've ran one day this week and I'm going to run 2 more this week, because my legs were hurting today and I want to be fully recovered when running. Is this fine? But after the first 2 weeks I'll raise 3 days running to 5 days.

I'm running 3 miles on all three days, could you please tell me any more routines especially those that would help me join the Parachute Regiment.

Thank you, Akshay. image

Comments

• Hey Ashkay

Good stuff. I joined the Infantry at 16 and I done under 9 mins for that although if I remember rightly I think we had to so sub 10.30. Don't forget to give the beep test a go now and again because thats an important one. Also on the day when you come to do your 1 1/2 mile test you would have run a swift ish 1 1/2 miles already. So really in your training you want to do a quick 1 1/2 then give it 2 minutes and go for your best 1 1/2. They will do it on a relatively flat course too which is a bonus.

The main thing is you have a very long time to train for this so do not over do it. Take it easy and get into slowly.

http://www.army.mod.uk/join/20261.aspx

Try the link above aswell because you cannot neglect your sit ups and push ups and the likes. Plus it's pretty easy to follow and tried and tested.