A bit of advice please

Hi everyone,

I'm new to running and need a bit of advice.

I've been going to the gym for about four months now, I had to build up from doing one class a week to two classes and two gym sessions when I have the time as I also study some evenings. Before this I hadn't done any exercise in about 8 years and 10 mins on the treadmill had my legs shaking.

I'v been dying to do a 5k race and have finally signed up to one in November with some friends. This race also has obstacles.

How can I train for this so that I can complete this race fairly comfortably (if that's possible). I should tell you now I'm a smoker (I know! It's bad, I've had two unsuccessful attempts at giving up this year and am likely to be able to give up before this race unfortunately). I am able to run at least 3k on the treadmill taking me around 25 mins at which point I normally stop (out of boredom mostly as in the gym I go to, the treadmills do not face anything but mirrors so nothing to keep my attention apart from my iPod).

Any ideas on how I can stop myself finishing at 3k, increasing the distance and quickening my pace?

Comments

• Well as a newcomer you should only really be doing your training runs at a pace that is 'easy' or 'conversational'. Even though you smoke, you should be able to find a pace that is slow, comfortable and won't leave you gagging for breath.

I'd aim to get 15 miles every week of this easy running and build from there. You can increase this amount 10% each week. Try to have one day a week which is your 'long run' day. Don't worry about adding any speedwork. You're 5K time will surely improve on easy mileage alone for the next few weeks up to the race.

• Thanks Jamie.

What would you say is a 'long run' or do you mean try and run the 5k?

• Rebecca- have you heard about Park Runs?

ParkRun.com 

Loads of them around the place, very friendly, you can always walk the last 2k! 

• Hi Rebecca,