what is a "quality" run?

I've seen the phrase used a lot in guides for training but i can't seem to find anywhere a definition of what a "quality" run might be.

if there is such a thing as a "quality" run, that kind of implies that there are non-quality runs, which don't sound like they're much cop to be honest. i thought all my runs were worthy.

i'm pretty new to runnning, having been totally put off at school a long time ago and i'm finding the deluge of differing advice, training plans and philosophies a bit bewildering to be honest.

Comments

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

The opposite of a quality run is (are?) 'junk miles' - runs which are done with no purpose other than to crank up the weekly total.

Quality runs have a purpose I suppose - extending distance, speedwork, tempo runs, recovery runs.

I guess!

• this is where i'm at:

having not run for any reason other than catching a bus in the last 20 years i've put myself in for the VLM next year, raising money in honour of my late mum. despite the lack of runnning i'm reasonably fit, play squash and ski, and have the general physiology of a distance runner (tall and skinny, crap outright speed but great stamina).

having started in june with a slightly nervous 23 minute 3.5km and interupted by a niggling achilles injury and a house move i'm now up to doing a 49min 10K.

my schedule at the mo is:

monday - squash

tuesday - 25 minutes of intervals with 5 minute gentle at either end

thursday - 5km quite pacey with "sprint then gentle" bits.

friday - 5km easy (could be called junk, maybe...)

sunday - distance at hopeful marathon pace of 5:40 p/k adding 1K a week. currently at about 14K.

wednesday and saturday - rest.

opinions and suggestions more than welcome.

• RatzerRatzer ✭✭✭