Budget triathlon

Hi there, As I'm a newbie to the whole thing of triathlon. Is it possible to do the sport on a small budget with regards to kit needed. Bike etc.. Obviously I know I have to pay to enter the events, but I'm hoping to get the essentials but spend as little as I can. Sounds like I'm being a cheap skate but my wages that I get at the end of the month, tends to go on the general things in life mortgage, children etc. I have plenty of energy so what I lack in kit will be made up with my general hard work! Thanks Comments and advice appreciated!!

Comments

• One of the biggest cost's is going to be your bike. For a smaller distance event you can get away with a lot more in terms of what bike on that one. Do you have a particular distance in mind or just to do a tri? If you just want to have a go I would do a pool based sprint tri and see how you feel? You can do that on any sort of bike and seen people with shopping baskets doing them. For a half ironman or higher they normally restrict what sort of bike you are allowed to take onto the course.

• a cheap budget will mean different things to different people.some people would consider £2000 to totally kit themselves out cheap.whilst to others £200 is out of their reach...........

Some people have said that they have done it cheaply and still spent over £800 on abike.......we are all at different points regarding finance..

I take it you have running kit so all you need is a bike and a wetsuit if doing outdoor ris.or a bike if doing indoor.......

have you got a bike got a friend who knows avbout bikes and can help with a second hand one.

without having any idea of your budget and what you already have its hard to say.

but if you are fit then you can cope on the cheapest of equipment

• Cake...  you didn't see me on my borrowed bike in Market Drayton in the late eighties?