Is it really possible?

Following on from the annual "I didn't get into VLM, it's soooo difficult" theads, I was wondering how possible the good for age entry is for a below average runner like me.

Several people had replied on the threads that all you have to do is train harder and get the GFA but is this really possible? Is eveyone capable of the times as long as they train enough?

I'll use myself as an example although I'm not about to try it (I'll keep entering the ballot, after all, filling in a form once a year really isn't as arduous as some seem to find it).

I am 30 so SF category. I have been running for 2 years and been a member of a running club for a year.

I run 4 times a week and swim once or twice.

The longest distance I have run is 14 miles, the longest race a half marathon.

I am getting better and managed a run of 19 races where I got a PB in each one over lots of different distance so I AM improving.

PBs

5k 26.09

4m 33.16

10k 54.39

half 2:15 (although doing another one in 3 weeks and hoping to get 7-10 mins off that)

As I said, I don't want a training plan, I was just using myself as an example. I can't see how I could go from where I am now to a sub 3 marathon. Is it really possible??

Comments

• MillsyMillsy ✭✭✭

Why do you have to do a sub 3 marathon?  I think the fastest category is 18-39 Male which is 3.10.

What is GFA time you are trying to achieve.

I have gone from non-runner (keen rugby player) to GFA 3.07 in just over 3 years of running so its not impossible to late starters. I didn`t take up running until after my 31st Birthday.

• I did just check the VLM website. Not sure where I for sub 3 from, must have made it up!

For me, a GFA time would be sub 3.50. No where near as fast as I thought.

I'm not trying to achieve this, I haven't even run a marathon. I'm just interested in whether everyone is capable of achieving this with some hard training and patience of if there are some people who will never get there.