Female sub-40 10K

Hi there.  I am looking for specific training advice for running a sub-40 minute 10K.  However I am female and most of the advice here is geared towards a male running sub-40 which is, if you don't mind me saying, a hell of a lot easier for a male to do. 

My PB is 42.48 and my running dream is to run sub-40.  I would like to do this next year.  I have been running for about 10 years now, some of which was non-competitive (i.e. just getting round), some years were lost to injury and some years focussed on other running goals like the marathon.  2 years ago I focussed on getting my 10K time down and took off 1.30 mins, but then half the year was lost to illness.

Any tips what I should be focussing on over the winter in preparation - strength?  Cross country, distance etc?  I'm prepared to throw myself into this for a year, whatever it takes (I'm 40 next year image)  I currently run 35-45 miles p/w, have over the summer stopped speed sessions as had an injury but now think I'm over the worst of it but normally include lots of hills, trail running, speed session and a long run of 10-12 miles per week.  I'm keen, me. image

Comments

• Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

Eradicating the injury 100% is going to be the key to this, as you need a good 3months or so consistent training, with your long run, tempo and speedwork, with easy paced running dotted in too.

Just on a basic level, do you train to pace zones?  Are they calculated from your recent races? Is your week arranged to keep the hard sessions separate from each other? eg Temp Tue, Speed Thur/.Fri, Long run Sunday?

Apologies if these questions are stuff you're already doing and sound rude to ask, it just helps to get the full picture...

• PiersPiers ✭✭✭

Pennylane,

Looks like you have a good stamina base so the key here is rep work, probably a mix of short 400m reps and longer 1000m reps.

The key to reps is keeping a consistent "hard" pace.

Your rep pace should be: