Sore Calves DURING run

Hi guys,

First post (wooo!)

I've been suffering from really sore/tight claves during my runs for the last month or so now and it still isn't going away. I've tried doing more stretching and longer warm-ups but there's no difference. I keep having to stop around every 20 mins to stretch my calves, which to be perfectly honest doesn't help much at all. I got myself fitted at Runners Need and so now have some great new trainers that are much better for me (I'm a terrible overpronator) - I thought that the pain would go once i was wearing better shoes/ had worn them in but the ache just won't go!

I've got a 10 mile race on the 20th October (2 weeks). This is my first ever race and I'm relatively new to running (only took it up a few months ago). Do you think that the pain could just be because i'm a newbie and my legs aren't used to it? I've been really gradual in my training (walking/running until i built up to being able to run for 30 mins comfortably). I've been worried about causing any(more?) damage to my calves and so have only been running twice a week (sometimes only once a week).

Do any of you have any advice? I've heard about calf compression socks - would those be good for me? I'm a uni student so can't afford to have a sports massage unfortunately but any tips/advice would be soooo appreciated. I'm really excited about the race but i'm starting to worry that I won't have put enough training in (only up to 7.5 miles so far) because of the pain during the runs.

Cheers guys,

- Susie x 

Comments