Mountain bike or road bike

Does it really matter what bike you train on,the reason I ask is because I would rather train on a mountain bike just because of the wear and tear factor ?

Comments

• Depends on what you are training for, 112 miles on a mountain bike would be fun !
  • I'm training for ironman next year I would do any rides over 2 hours on a mountain bike lol
  • Training off road through the winter can improve your bike handling and fitness.  Not sure how much you'll gain on the road on your MTB.  However, the set up - and gearing - is so completely different that you absolutely need to get out on your road bike as often as possible.

I'm no expert, and a generally crap cyclist, but I I don't think your road bike is going to suffer too much wear and tear.  You're posiibly more likely to pick up punctures in the winter due to grit and other crud on the roads but decent tyres will reduce the likelihood.  Other than that, keep the bike well lubed and it shouldn't suffer too much.

• That aside, I'd agree that your handling and skills will improve (MTBers are meant to have the smoothest pedal stroke), but your position, the speed, how it rides on the road and the like are completely different. That said if it gets you out biking over the winter, then that's the right bike for you.

• nice question

I started as an MTBer and am now a roadie.... I have arm warmers and everything image 

I used to think MTBing gave me a great strength workout - its harder riding a MTB,...?  Its certainly harder trying to ride at the same speed..... (but then a road bike is harder trying to ride at 40kph than 30.....)

I went out 2 weekends ago on the MTB for the first time in a year.... 
    I found it curiously easy.  I romped up hills, ground though crappy trails, and only headed for home as the weather was sooooo rubbish.

So a bikes a bike,,,,,,,  Its all good,