Sore ankle

I am relatively new to running, a year in now, having come across from cycling and have built up from the real basics (run 1 min, walk 1 min) to doing about 15 miles a week between 2 runs. Recently (last 4 weeks) I have started to get a dull pain in my right ankle, the pain is very localised and appears to be in/on the bone on the inside of the joint. It occurs during longer runs and I do get residual pain afterwards but it generally disappears during the following day. I can happily run with the discomfort but know that this probably isn't the best course of action if I don't want to end up with a running related injury. 

I recently had my stride etc examined and as a result I bought a new pair of trainers and orthotics, before that I had been running in a pair that a friend had given me. 

Any thoughts?

Comments

• Did the injury status improve with the trainer update?
  • Jason asks a key question....  and have you had any change in your running schedule?  Has the mileage been steady, or did it jump up just prior to the initial injury?  (maybe the 3 subsequent weeks haven't been a cause of the problem... but might be enough to prevent full healing of the injury).

First thing I'd do is have a week off running...  maybe go on a bike or rowing machine to keep your exercise up, without the impact.

• The pain started a couple of weeks after getting the new trainers but has also coincided with an increase in weekly mileage. I concentrated on how it felt tonight and it was more when I push off rather than when I land on my heel. 

I have started doing runs with a variation of my running footwear, eg. new trainers without inserts, old trainers with inserts etc. So far no improvement.... I will consider having a week off possibly after seeing my chiropracter.

• Hmmm sounds to me as weak ankle muscles amber! OR/AND you got the wrong trainers. Having the wrong ones will obviously have an effect on you running style etc so will bound to upset something.