Achillies Injury

Hi All,

I'm new to this running malarky so be gentle image

I've been training for my first half marathon which is on 28th October. I started my training from doing absolutely no running and I am now up to 10 miles.

After Sunday's long run i've had a terrible pain in my achillies and reading around resting seems to be the best solution. Only problem is i'm worried that if I rest completely I'm going to lose my momentum.

Has anyone else had similar problems? Or can anyone give me any advice on what I should be doing?

Cheers

Chris

Comments

• If you carry on running it will get worse ... much worse

There are hundreds of other 1/2 marathons out there but you wont get as many achilles image

• It could be the start of achilles tendonitis. You need to google 'eccentric exercises for achilles tendonitis' and do them twice a day.

Even folks without achilles tendonitis should be doing these exercise twice a day as a preventative measure.

I don't think you're half marathon is in danger for as long as the condition is not too advanced......plus you start the exercises tomorrow! Tendonitis tends not to improve with just rest, the tendon needs to be stretched and used daily. Icing helps too, but only for 20 mins max at a time.

I was diagnosed with achilles tendonitis a year ago in early April (thought I'd never walk normally again, let alone run!), but by mid May I had managed to run an 11 mile trail race, and got a 10K PB in June!

The eccentric exercises definitely work......

• Thanks Jamie I'll give it a go! Do you think I should be completely resting? I wanted to train up to 11/12 miles just worried the 10 I've done isn't enough.