Freestyle swimming leg position

Hi everyone. Firstly let me apologise if this has been dealt with before on here but this is my first time checking out this forum. I have recently started my Triathlon training after i decided i needed a challenge and have today had my first swimming lesson. I have been practising my swimming for a few weeks using the swim smooth and total immersion DVDs and websites to guide me. Through watching these I have learnt that the legs are just there for stabilisation and the arms should do most of the work and that the feet should not be splashing the surface of the water. However my coach today told me that my feet should be coming approx 10cm above the water when kicking. He explained it as a 20cm zone around the surface of the water, 10cm above and 10cm below and that this is where my feet should be. Is this correct? I don't want to be paying to be taught an incorrect technique. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• He also told me my legs would be providing 85% of my propulsion and my arms only 15%.
  • sounds like he's got the wrong way around.  I can't kick for toffee... so only use my kick to keep my legs high and therefore reduce drag.  I mostly swim with my arms, and I think most other people do too....

• Chris, I'd side with PSC. Why else do good swimmers have a classic V shape and such strong shoulders? Legs provide propulsion in the latter stages of a race when the arms start to get tired, but really shouldn't do much other long distance, endurance events.
  • Thanks guys. I suppose I'd better look for another swim coach!