Can't get near sub 3 hr marathon!!!!!!!!!!!!

Not sure what I'm doing wrong, fastest marathon time 3.18.08 in 2009 (London), 3.34.12 in 2011(Chester) and 3.35.59 2012 (London) half marathon PB 1.25.51 2009 (Liverpool) and 10k regular sub 40 mins 5k 18.30 and fastest mile 5.10 flat out, Training 4 to 5 days a week between 40 and 50 miles in total. Am I just to far from getting sub 3 hrs and should aim for more like sub 3.15 or can some one give me some tips for getting to my all time goal?

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

I'm not that experienced, so there may be better advice from other forumites.  

First thing that jumps out at me is that you're probably not doing enough miles, to get sub 3 I would have though you'd be in the 5 -6 times a week and the 60 to 70 miles per week range.

You haven't given much detail of how you ran the marathons, but from your times I'd suspect that you really suffered in the second half and had a big positive splti in your times.  This would suggest its your endurance that needs improving, so more miles could be the answer

• PiersPiers ✭✭✭
    Yep, not enough mileage. Need to be doing 60 -70+ a week and running 6 times a week possibly doubling up on some days.
  • I've similar times to you for the half and shorter distances. I'm still 10 mins or so off going sub 3. As the others say - more miles. You have to be really comfortable over long runs. Looks like you're more focussed on the shorter distances currently.

How did the marathons go ? Big fades after half way or exploding near the end ?

How many 20+ miles did you do ?