advice needed please...

I have been running for anout 10 years and in the last 2 whilst living abroad in Germany upped  my running to about 80-100 km per week. Watched my diet got healthier and lost weight..so pleased with my self going from 77kg to 55kg. Moved back to the UK to new town of Halifax and I found running a nightmare on the roads there! lept getting lost! and despite doing alot of hill running found the terrain here hard and rather trecherous.

I went out about a month ago and fell smashing both my knees which left me completely immobile! worst fall ive ever had, felt such an idiot, not a fast runner either only abour 9/10 minute mile. Knee cuts have gone and the actual knee cap itself has heeled but below my right knee is a lump (was the size of a golf ball) but less now, left just still bruised and tender to side of knee. I just thought a couple of weeks rest..been using the exercise bike which has helped stop knee from seizing but pain still there and its been since 3rd sep i fell, hard going up and down stairs and sitting for too long.I ran once but after effects not good. Im scared to go to the doctors incase its bad and im told DO NOT RUN AGAIN. (silly I know). One worry is I will put on all the weight I lost but cant seem to do a long workout in one hit on exercise bike so over course of a day burning about 800 cals in 200 intervals. Is this any good..pointless will results only be by that intensive one workout burn? also advice on my knee please. image

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

SEE A DOCTOR!!

There's a load of differnet tendons and ligaments packed into the knee joint, so no one can give an accurate diagnosis over t'interweb.

If you still have a lump after a month, then something is not happy in there and the longer you leave the higher the risk of it getting worse (and taking even longer to recover).