Running clubs?

was just wondering how many of you are members of running clubs? i am fairly new to running and am really enjoying it- booked in for my first 10k in november image i would describe myself as a plodder- i know i can do the distance (currently up to 5 miles without stopping) but it will be at the back and i will be slow... now i would really really like to get faster  at running as it does get a little boring being so slow but i think that i will struggle to push myself to do the interval/hill training on my own...so would you join a club? i'm just worried that everyone will be super duper runners and it will demoralise me...just been away with work for a week and been running with work people and was definitely the slowest and this included people who said they were slow- clearly their measurement of 'slow' is different to mine...so even though the website says "all levels catered for"- do they really mean that??

My local club is the rochdale Harriers if anyone has any specific details on that club/ anyone is a member who might be able to offer some advice!

thanks image

Comments

• Join! If a club say "all levels" they probably mean it. Most clubs encourage you to come along a few times before deciding to join so there is no harm in trying. If one club doesn't suit, try another one. Even here in the "middle of nowhere" (quoting my son) there is another club not too far away.

I too ages to bite the bullet and approach a club, then regretted the delay.

• A lot of clubs cater for all ability of runner from beginner to "super duper runners". I think everyone worries but it really isn't necessary. Clubs often want new members, that is, afterall, the purpose of the club. Be a strange club of only one (though I think there are a few runners who like it that wayimage

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

Join - or at least go along and meet them, and try running with them.