Heart rate query

Hi

Not sure if this should be in training or beginners so have posted in both.  I’m hoping that someone out there can answer this heart rate query?  I have been running for about 9 months now and I’m doing three 30-40minute runs per week.  My resting heart rate is about 72 bpm and I have fairly low blood pressure (110/55).  I’m 53 by the way.

My ex -aerobics instructor calculated the various percentage heart rates for my monitor but even on the slowest of runs and I mean slow (just above walking) my heart rate is up to over 145 bpm.  Faster ones average around 155 but it seldom goes up over 165 even if I sprint!  However I can’t seem to keep it lower unless I actually walk.

I have tried two or three monitors and it is the same.  Is this normal as most articles indicate that it should be lower for steady runs?  I’m sure this has been answered before but there are so many posts I can’t find one. 

Thanks

Lennie

Comments

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭

You need to calculate your maximum heart rate to get meaningful figures.  I suspect your aerobics instructor used the widely-known but not very accurate 220-age formula (220-53 = max HR of 167).

When first training with an HR, most people find low intensity runs are at a very slow pace and may involve some walking, but within a month or so they are able to maintain a higher pace whilst keeping their HR within the lower threshold.  Based on what you've said, see if you can run a few runs at around 140 - 145 bpm (walking if your HR rises above 145) and then see if you progress within the next month?  

• The Karvonen method is supposed to be one of the most accurate.

This uses : run perc *(max - rest) + rest

If you don't know your max a more accurate calculaton (apparently about 90%) than the mentioned 220-age is 205 - half age so for you would be 179 (females can sometimes be about 5 more)

So if you wanted a steady recovery pace of 70% it would be

.70 * (179-70) = 76 plus 70 = 146