Beginner - Very Much So

Hi Everyone,

I have signed up to do the Richmond 10k on 18 Nov as I needed something to focus on - bit ambitious I think as I have only started running 3 months ago!   I have never done anything like this before and am not sure what to expect on the day.  My biggest fear is finishing last (which will probably be the case) or not finishing at all!!  I know it's only 6 miles but it may as well be an ultra marathon for me - any advice would be appreciated, thanks!

Comments

• Finishing last isn't something to be afraid of it means you are still ahead of the 99% at home on their sofas.

I did my first "race" on Sunday 506 out of 525 finishers. Before it I was at times silly enough to worry would it be respectable what if I am last, etc.... It's totally irrelevant it's not a race against other people unless you are in the top 10. It's about you and the new friends you meet on course, all beating the course in any way possible by finishing ;/)

When you have finished a fee then I think you can start to plan where you would like to be, but take it from me I'm damn competitive, never let anyone else win at monopoly, it's not like that. If you complete it, you will feel 50ft tall.

Steph
  • Oh also don't go with only one plan in mind. It's not plan A or I've failed it's then just plan b or c ... It's whatever gets you aroundimage also enjoy it. Your first race is always going to be special.
  • Hi Steph,

Thanks so much - I know it will be special and I am so excited.   It's been a struggle over the years having piled on the weight, had two kids etc etc (looking more and more like the Michelin man every time I looked in the mirror) - anyway decided to get fit 5 months ago and started running just to lose weight initially but I got hooked and here I am going for a 10k and 3 stone lighter image 

Will let you know how it goes and once again thanks

Kal