Disillusioned beginner seeks training partner (possibly with a big stick)

Hi anyone and everyone,

So lets not beat about the bush I desperately need some hep/advice. I've been running for about 8 years and having built up over the years I completed my second marathon this June in 4:48 (a 30min PB on 2011). I'm 6`2" and 17 & 1/2 stone and gaining weight at an alarming rate!!

Anyway a change of job has lead to a change in training regime and I've lost my way. Basically running further and further particularly alone is dull, so I thought I'd move over to Triathlon. I thought the variety outweighed the greater challenge.

But after a couple of months it's all going wrong, I can only manage a 3 mile run, my swimming has improved (distance not sure about technique) and i haven't started any proper cycle training yet (other than my 6 miles of commuting daily)

I've read lots of training plans and diet advice and I can't decide what's best for me. Years of regular running has never helped stabilise my weight.

I'll take any advice including being told to man up.

Thanks for listening

Comments

• F.oggyF.oggy ✭✭✭

If you post what you are actually doing at the moment, Im sure you will get a few suggestions on how to improve.

• Foggy is right, some info as to what you are doing and what your goals are too

If years of running have not stabilised your weight then you are likely eating too much or not moving enough  image

• A good point F.oggy!!

Running - 2-3 times a week 3 miles 8.30 m/m

Swimming (converting from breaststroker to front crawl)  - 2-3 times a week. 25m pool. 10 length bs/10 lengths alternating bs/fc then/30 lengths trying to do consectutive fc lengths (a struggle).

Cycling - just my commuting, but i try and do it at a challenging pace

• Take the point on eating too much, but i don't think i have a bad diet. I don't eat loads of junk and takeaway and i think I'm pretty active!

• you also don't say what your goals are!