Heart rate zones - Danger Zone

Hi all I am a complete newbie to running and want to get a few bits clear in my mind. A few crititcal piece of information: I started a running programme "couch to 5k" 6 weeks ago. At the start I weighed 235.7lbs and would consume on average 2200-2750 calories per day. My BMI was 31.96. Yes I was very unfit and needed a change At present I am now on week 6 of the programme, running 25 mins in appx 7.16 min per km. I am currently at 222.8lbs and my BMI is 30.21. I also keep a strict food diet that I try to keep to 1490 calories net per day ( on average I am at 1632 gross) Overall I am feeling great from all the activity and have the bonus of feeling better in my clothes. However I am slightly worried that my heart rate is very high (I monitor it with a polar HRH) and towards the end of a 25 min run I am regularly getting into the 90-95% max heart rate zone). I know I should be aimining to keep it below 85 but I am really not running very fast if I slowed down I would be walking. Am I doing something wrong ? The programme is now solid running whereas when it started there were walks built into the run, so I could recover a little, but now it is all running. Also is my weight loss right I would have thought that it would have dropped off far quicker especially considering that I have done so little for e last 10 years, and have reduced my calories by at least 500 calories a day Any advice or help would be great

Comments

• You're hrm is working on a theoretical max hr. 220-your age.

This is way out for a lot of people.

Bin it and run at a pace that you could chat at.