Row Row Row The Boat....

(Pre- Warining: The post can be taken as either
a) a joke or
b) a serious intent done in a slighlty humorous manner

The outcome of replies determines what the original aim was.)

Inspired by the olympics, I want to take up rowing. I want to win in 2016 Olympics. Finns don't have many decent athletes out there and I think I could do well for my country.

There are couple of rowing clubs in Leeds. One big one that doesnt take on any beginners and another one that is aimed for kids and university students.

What the hell can I do? Buy a rowing machine and practise whilst watching Judge Judy? 

I'm talking about becoming an elite here. Some of those British female gold medallist didnt take up rowing until in their thirties.

HOW? 

I've rowed before. Not seriously but I've rowed a fair few times. So I'm not a beginner... but I am in the way that I've never done it as a sport.

I think I'd be amazing. You could all watch me in 2016 and say I KNOW THAT CRAZY FINNISH LADY... image

So... if anyone knows... how do I get to the rowing sport?

Comments

• You need to find a club that offers a Row Start course, or similar.
    All the work in the world on a Concept 2 rower is not going to get you to the Olympics; there is a very famous phrase amongst rowers - Ergs don't float (ergs is short for ergometer - the rowing machine).
    Rowing is a very technical sport - the power comes from the legs, but the body position and hands are crucial for maximising the stroke efficiency and making the most of the power through the water - and the slightest modification in hand/body position can effect the balance of the boat and therefore how it moves through the water/effect of drag on the blade.